Baseball: It’s More than a Game

Be sure to read my latest blogpost over at On Pop Theology – in it I reminisce over one of my favorite family traditions – Opening Day in Cleveland.  You can see it here.  I included one of my favorite pictures there too, and because I love it so much here it is again.

My son Clark at the Opening Day blizzard of 2007.

We found some respite in Florida last week and are easing our way back into reality.  Today, however, baseball is on my mind as the Cleveland Indians open their season in Toronto.  They open in Cleveland next Monday and the weather looks like it might actually be amazing!  For now, a few thoughts from F. Scott Fitzgerald on the significance of baseball.  From The Great Gatsby:

“Who is he, anyhow, an actor?”

“No.”

“A dentist?”

“Meyer Wolfsheim?  No, he’s a gambler.”  Gatsby hesitated, then added coolly: “He’s the man who fixed the World Series back in 1919.”

“Fixed the World Series,” I repeated.

The idea staggered me.  I remembered, of course, that the World Series had been fixed in 1919, but if I had thought of it at all I would have thought of it as a thing that merely happened, the end of some inevitable chain.  It never occurred to me that one man could start to play with the faith of fifty million people – with the single-mindedness of a burglar blowing a safe.

“How did he happen to do that?” I asked after a minute.

“He just saw the opportunity.”

Leave a Reply

