Then There’s This . . .

I enjoy reading my RSS feeds from the folks over at Jesus Radicals – Christian anarchists.  Not many of them get much publicity among mainline Christian outlets, but I find they make me think a little harder than most mainstream stuff.  Here’s some thoughts on Osama Bin Laden . . . not that you haven’t already had your fill, but I doubt you’ve read something like this . . . I hope it makes you think rather than simply peek your emotions . . .

Osama Bin Laden, 911, and Evil

4 thoughts on “Then There’s This . . .

  1. What did you find intriguing about that? I wanted to find something to think about, but it just sounded like 9/11 Truther, conspiracy theory nonsense.

    Help me out here.

    • Hey man, I think your question is fair. Here’s what I find intriguing about all of this. I find it interesting how loudly the rallying cry of the “liberal bias” in the media has been recently. I know it’s an old argument and something that is far from new, but it’s certainly had a revival thanks to the Fox News Corporation. I don’t necessarily disagree with the argument (that there’s a liberal bias in mainstream media), but what I absolutely disagree with is the idea that Fox and some of the other conservative outlets somehow serve as “the absolute objective truth.” I don’t think anyone would go so far as to say that, but after all, they purport to be “fair and balanced.”

      While I am far from a conspiracy theorist, what I find intriguing here is that the author is pursuing the conservative premise further – supposing that all media is bias . . . really a mouthpiece for the State. While you may believe that suggestions such as this go too far, for me, they help keep us from being too cozy with the state. The President issues a statement . . . no matter who the President is his first and primary objective is to propagandize the actions of the state in the eyes of its citizens. We should hear the news like those of another citizenship: cautiously, skeptically. I think it’s a fine line to walk between the idea of an full-blown conspiracy theory, and the acknowledgment that absolute power corrupts absolutely and in the halls of power there are incredibly dark places.

      I’ve really been struck this week by the reality of the United States propagandizing machine when it has come to the war on terrorism. Consider this, who has killed more innocent people: Islamic fundamentalist terrorist or the United States military complex? When you factor in the capitalistic realities of our international weapons deals the numbers are truly astronomical. But how seldom are those numbers reported? That, to me, is what this article gets at. Are we focused on the several thousands who have died in American military battles, or the hundreds of thousands who are dying from our bombs and weaponry? Both sadden to the bone. We’ve got to get past the dichotomous view where if you ask certain questions you get labeled or dismissed or whatever. Just some thoughts . . . I’m still processing . . . thank for checking things out here.

  2. I see where you’re coming from. I try to maintain a healthy skepticism when it comes to these things — but I don’t want to become a Dale Gribble, thinking everything’s a conspiracy.

    I think a lot of Americans (myself included) have always just assumed that the government is telling us the truth. I like your idea that “it’s a fine line to walk between the idea of an full-blown conspiracy theory, and the acknowledgment that absolute power corrupts absolutely and in the halls of power there are incredibly dark places.”

Leave a Reply

